Ensign O'Toole

63
  • Genre(s): Comedy
  • Release year: 1962
Ensign O'Toole is a military comedy that aired on NBC from September 23, 1962, to May 5, 1963, with Dean Jones in the title role of a nonchalant United States Navy ensign during the early 1960s. Jones played an officer aboard the fictional U.S. read more

Ensign O'Toole is a military comedy that aired on NBC from September 23, 1962, to May 5, 1963, with Dean Jones in the title role of a nonchalant United States Navy ensign during the early 1960s. Jones played an officer aboard the fictional U.S. Navy destroyer USS Appleby, which roamed the Pacific Ocean.

Original Release

09/23/1962 on NBC

US Release

09/23/1962

Cast

Dean Jones Ensign O'Toole
Jay C. Flippen Chief Petty Officer Homer Nelson
Robert Sorrells White
Jack Mullaney Lieutenant Rex St. John / Lt. Rex St. John
Jack Albertson Lieutenant Commander Virgil Stoner / Lt. Cdr. Virgil Stoner
Harvey Lembeck Seaman Gabby Di Julio / DiJulio
Beau Bridges Spicer
Jack Albertson Lt. Cdr. Virgil Stoner
Jack Mullaney Lt. Rex St. John
Harvey Lembeck DiJulio
(see additional cast & crew)
# Title Air Date
1 Operation Kowana Sunday, 23 September 1962
2 Operation: Model T Sunday, 30 September 1962
3 Operation: Daddy Sunday, 07 October 1962
4 Operation: Benefit Sunday, 14 October 1962
5 Operation: Jinx Sunday, 21 October 1962
6 Operation Holdout Sunday, 28 October 1962
7 Operation: Birthday Sunday, 11 November 1962
8 Operation: Dinner Party Sunday, 11 November 1962
9 Operation: Mess Wednesday, 17 October 1962
10 Operation: Impersonation Sunday, 25 November 1962
11 Operation: Hypnosis Sunday, 02 December 1962
12 Operation Potomac Sunday, 09 December 1962
13 Operation: Gaslight Sunday, 16 December 1962
14 Operation: Brooklyn Sunday, 23 December 1962
15 Operation: Swindle Sunday, 30 December 1962
16 Operation: Treasure Sunday, 06 January 1963
17 Operation Intrigue Sunday, 13 January 1963
18 Operation Psychology Sunday, 20 January 1963
19 Operation Royalty Sunday, 27 January 1963
20 Operation Whodunit Sunday, 03 February 1963
21 Operation Casanova Sunday, 10 February 1963
22 Operation: Souvenir Sunday, 17 February 1963
23 Operation Arrivederci Tuesday, 05 March 1963
24 Operation Re-enlist Sunday, 10 March 1963
25 Operation: Boxer Sunday, 17 March 1963
26 Operation Stowaway Sunday, 24 March 1963
27 Operation: Arctic Sunday, 31 March 1963
28 Operation Physical Sunday, 07 April 1963
29 Operation: Tubby Sunday, 14 April 1963
30 Operation: Sabotage Sunday, 21 April 1963
31 Operation Contest Sunday, 28 April 1963
32 Operation: Geisha Sunday, 05 May 1963

Directors

Hy Averback, Richard Kinon, Lawrence Dobkin, Don Taylor, James Komack, Bob Claver, Jeffrey Hayden, Jackie Cooper

Writers

William J. Lederer, Charles Tannen, Bill Davenport, Sheldon Keller, Howard Merrill, James B. Allardice, Tom Adair, James Fritzell, James Komack, Everett Greenbaum, Howard Leeds, Jack Raymond, Ben Starr, Robert O'Brien

Cast

Dean Jones Ensign O'Toole
Jay C. Flippen Chief Petty Officer Homer Nelson
Robert Sorrells White
Jack Mullaney Lieutenant Rex St. John / Lt. Rex St. John
Jack Albertson Lieutenant Commander Virgil Stoner / Lt. Cdr. Virgil Stoner
Harvey Lembeck Seaman Gabby Di Julio / DiJulio
Beau Bridges Spicer
Jack Albertson Lt. Cdr. Virgil Stoner
Jack Mullaney Lt. Rex St. John
Harvey Lembeck DiJulio
Gerald Trump Crump
Robert Sorrells Seaman Claude White
Ken Berry Lt. Melton
Beau Bridges Seaman Howard Spicer
Harvey Lembeck Seaman Gabby Di Julio
Stuart Margolin Lt. Miller
Eddie Peterson Selby
Andrew Colmar Naismith
Gary Crosby Ensign Baxter
Davis Roberts Swain

Producers

Editors

Thomas Scott, Chandler House, Thomas Neff, Lester Orlebeck

Ouch! Looks like something broke. Try reloading this page. 🗙