Playmakers

73
  • TV-MA
Playmakers is an American drama series that aired on ESPN from August 26 to November 11, 2003. It depicted the lives of the Cougars, a fictional professional football team in an unidentified city. The show starred Omar Gooding, Marcello Thedford,... read more

Playmakers is an American drama series that aired on ESPN from August 26 to November 11, 2003. It depicted the lives of the Cougars, a fictional professional football team in an unidentified city. The show starred Omar Gooding, Marcello Thedford, Christopher Wiehl, Jason Matthew Smith, Russell Hornsby, and Tony Denison. The show, which ran eleven episodes, was the first original drama series created by ESPN. Although the ratings were very high for ESPN—Playmakers was the highest-rated show on the network other than its Sunday night NFL and Saturday college football games—ESPN eventually canceled the series under pressure from the National Football League, who disliked the portrayal of the negative aspects of its players' lives off the field.

Original Release

08/26/2003

Links

Cast

Tony Denison Coach George
Omar Gooding Demetrius Harris
Bruce Gray Gene Wilbanks
Marcello Thedford Kelvin 'Buffalo' James
Russell Hornsby Leon Taylor
Stephen Bogaert Phil Chambers
Jason Matthew Smith Eric Olczyk
Chris Weihl Derek McConnell
Dan Petronijevic Thad Guerwitcz
Phillip Jarrett Coach Rudman
(see additional cast & crew)
# Title Air Date
1 Game Day Tuesday, 26 August 2003
2 Piss Man Tuesday, 02 September 2003
3 Choice: Part 1 Tuesday, 09 September 2003
4 Choice: Part 2 Tuesday, 16 September 2003
5 Halftime Tuesday, 23 September 2003
6 Man in Motion Tuesday, 30 September 2003
7 Talk Radio Tuesday, 07 October 2003
8 Down & Distance Tuesday, 14 October 2003
9 The Outing Tuesday, 28 October 2003
10 Tenth of a Second Tuesday, 04 November 2003
11 Week 17 Tuesday, 11 November 2003
Ouch! Looks like something broke. Try reloading this page. 🗙