The Count of Monte Cristo

61
The Count of Monte Cristo is a 1956 British television series produced by ITC Entertainment/TPA and adapted very loosely from the novel by Alexandre Dumas by Sidney Marshall. It premiered in the UK in early 1956 and ran for 39 thirty-minute episodes... read more

The Count of Monte Cristo is a 1956 British television series produced by ITC Entertainment/TPA and adapted very loosely from the novel by Alexandre Dumas by Sidney Marshall. It premiered in the UK in early 1956 and ran for 39 thirty-minute episodes dramatizing the continuing adventures of Edmond Dantès, the self-styled Count of Monte Cristo, during the reign of Louis Philippe I d'Orléans, King of the French from 1830 to 1848. The first twelve episodes were filmed in the United States, at the Hal Roach studios, with the rest being filmed at ITC's traditional home of Elstree.

Original Release

02/20/1956

Cast

Nick Cravat Jacopo
George Dolenz Edmond Dantes / The Count of Monte Cristo
Robert Cawdron Rico
George Dolenz Edmond Dantes
Henry Corden Carlo
Fortunio Bonanova Mario
Joseph R. Ryan Captain Of The Guard
Patricia Laffan Duchess of Maastricht
Leslie Perrins Cavalho
Freddie Tripp The Groom (as Frederick Tripp)
(see additional cast & crew)
# Title Air Date
1 A Toy for the Infanta Monday, 20 February 1956
2 Marseilles Monday, 27 February 1956
3 The Luxembourg Affair Monday, 05 March 1956
4 The Texas Affair Monday, 12 March 1956
5 The Mazzini Affair Monday, 19 March 1956
6 The Carbonari Monday, 26 March 1956
7 The Devil's Emissary Monday, 02 April 1956
8 Bordeaux Monday, 09 April 1956
9 Flight to Calais Monday, 16 April 1956
10 Albania Monday, 23 April 1956
11 Naples Monday, 30 April 1956
12 Art of Terror Monday, 07 May 1956
13 The Experiment Monday, 14 May 1956
14 Mecklenburg Monday, 21 May 1956
15 The Portuguese Affair Monday, 28 May 1956
16 Lichtenburg Monday, 04 June 1956
17 Burgundy Monday, 11 June 1956
18 Majorca Tuesday, 12 June 1956
19 Sicily Monday, 02 July 1956
20 A Matter of Justice Monday, 09 July 1956
21 Athens Monday, 23 July 1956
22 The Talleyrand Affair Monday, 30 July 1956
23 The Island Monday, 06 August 1956
24 The Barefoot Empress Monday, 13 August 1956
25 The Grecian Gift Monday, 20 August 1956
26 Monaco Monday, 27 August 1956
27 Point Counter Point Monday, 03 September 1956
Loading...

Directors

Dennis Vance, Charles Bennett, Sidney Salkow, Charles Bennett, David MacDonald, David MacDonald, Budd Boetticher

Writers

Alexandre Dumas, Nat Tanchuck, Louis Vittes, Arthur Browne Jr., Endre Bohem, Charles Bennett, Barry Shipman, Aubrey Wisberg, Samuel Newman, Charles R. Marion, Charles Bennett, Sidney Salkow, Sidney Marshall, Laurence Heath, Stella Linden, David Robinson, John Rich, Roger Clay, Fred Eggers, John O'Dea, Seeleg Lester, Al C. Ward, Harold Nebenzal, J. Benton Cheney, Ellis Marcus, Lawrence L. Goldman, Barbara Merlin, Leroy H. Zehren, Cecil Maiden, Michael Cramoy, Benton J. Cheyney, Curt Siodmak, Peter Holiday, Phil Park, Tony Barrett, Barry Trivers, Richard Schayer, Milton Merlin

Cast

Nick Cravat Jacopo
George Dolenz Edmond Dantes / The Count of Monte Cristo
Robert Cawdron Rico
George Dolenz Edmond Dantes
Henry Corden Carlo
Fortunio Bonanova Mario
Joseph R. Ryan Captain Of The Guard
Patricia Laffan Duchess of Maastricht
Leslie Perrins Cavalho
Freddie Tripp The Groom (as Frederick Tripp)
William Franklyn Phillipe
Allan Cuthbertson Metz
Frank Pemberton The Woodcutter
Michael Brooke Niki
Ferdy Mayne Baron Garonne
Nancy Hale Marguerite
Victor Platt The Jailer
John Loder Baron Danglars
John Warburton Debray
John Chandos Reiker

Producers

Leon Fromkess Executive Producer
Dennis Vance Producer
Sidney Marshall Producer
Leon Fromkess Producer

Editors

Derek Chambers, Ann Chegwidden, Aaron Stell, Ben Hipkins, Bill Lenny, Seymour Logie, Otto Meyer, Dwight Caldwell, Monica Collingwood

Ouch! Looks like something broke. Try reloading this page. 🗙